Short answer:

You can share the driving with someone else, but only if the other driver is a member. Non-members don't have damage and loss protection.

If you want to share the driving, your friend can sign up for Uber Carshare. Once they are verified, they can drive: it doesn't matter whether the trip is booked in your name or theirs.

How to share the driving

If you have a friend or partner that you'd like to share the driving with, simply get them to sign up. Once they're verified, they can drive the car, even though the trip is booked under your name.

If a trip is booked using your member account, then in the event of damage or an at-fault accident, you're responsible for the excess regardless of who is driving.

Only members can drive

Only verified members are insured to drive any of the vehicles on our platform.

 Important

Never allow another person to drive a car booked using your account, unless they are also an Uber Carshare member. If you do, you'll be responsible for any damage, costs or liability that they may incur.

Additional age restrictions

Some owners may set additional age restrictions for their particular vehicle. It’s your responsibility to check if this is the case before you share the driving.

 

Was this article helpful?
699 out of 786 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.