You can view a full breakdown of the charges for a particular trip by selecting the relevant trip in the Uber Carshare website or app. See an explanation of each possible charge below.
Breakdown of trip charges
The charges for your trip will consist of:
- a charge for the time you had the car
- a charge for the distance you drove
- a booking fee
- a charge for Basic Cover
It may also consist of:
- a charge to add Premium Cover
- a cancelled time or unused time charge
- toll charges and processing fees
- fees to extend your trip
Time, booking, Basic Cover and Premium Cover fees are charged at the time you book your trip. Other fees will be charged during or after your trip.
To see a full breakdown of your trip costs, log in and select the relevant trip under the 'Trips' tab.
The car's hourly and daily rates are set by the owner. The car's hourly rate applies for each hour you have the car, until you reach the daily rate. The daily rate is the most you will pay for the car for any 24 hour period.
Fee charged to customers and paid out to cover auto insurance, onboarding costs, and other trip-related expenses.
Basic Cover and Premium Cover
These are charges for your excess reduction. Basic Cover is included with every trip. You can upgrade to Premium Cover for an additional fee.
You pay a distance charge for each mile you drive. This includes fuel as well as other running costs associated with your driving. The distance charge depends on the type of car you borrow, for example:
You pay a distance charge for each mile you drive. This charge is intended to cover fuel as well as other running costs associated with your driving. The distance charge depends on the type of car you borrow, for example:
If you drive through any tolls, you can pay for them yourself at the time they’re charged. Otherwise, you’ll be charged for any tolls after your trip.
Any taxes are calculated at checkout and are charged on top of the cost of the trip. Taxes may vary depending on which state you're located in. They are displayed on trip receipts, and are also shown at checkout when you book your trip.
Unused time or cancelled time
If you cancel or change your trip, or return the car early, you may see a charge for unused or cancelled time. See a full explanation of these charges.
You pay an extension fee of $0.50 each time you extend your trip past its end time. If your trip's end time has already passed, you'll pay a late extension fee of $10.